March 17, 2015 · updated February 15, 2022

The first of the Five Pillars of Islam is the shahada (Arabic, "testimony" or "witness"). The shahada is the Muslim profession of faith, expressing the two simple, fundamental beliefs that make one a Muslim:

La ilaha illa Allah wa-Muhammad rasul Allah.

There is no god but Allah and Muhammad is the prophet of Allah.

Sincere recitation of this confession of faith before at least two Muslims is the sole requirement for those who wish to join the Muslim community. It represents acceptance not only of Allah and his prophet, but of the entirety of Islam. As one of the Pillars, the shahada must be recited correctly aloud with full understanding and internal assent at least once in every Muslim's lifetime.

The shahada is also recited in the muzzein's call to prayer, included in the salat (daily ritual prayer) and incorporated in Sufi contemplative prayer. It is also recited in the moments before death. From the shahada are derived the other fundamental doctrines of Islam: angels, the Quran and the Bible, the prophets, and the Day of Judgment.


External Links on Shahada

  • First Pillar: Ash-Shahadah [Two Testimonies] - Sala@m
  • Shahada: Confession of a Muslim - Islamic Society of Greater Kansas City
  • How to Become a Muslim - Islam World