Noble Eightfold Path

Definition: Noble Eightfold Path
In Buddhism, the way to permanently escape suffering and the cycle of rebirth: right knowledge; right intention; right speech; right action; right livelihood; right effort; right mindfulness; right concentration.

The Four Noble Truths of Buddhism teach that a person can permanently escape suffering and the cycle of rebirth by following the Noble Eightfold Path.

The word "right" in these eight items designates "true" or "correct." Thus it is not enough to gain knowledge or take action; it must be right knowledge or action, based on the Buddha's teachings.

The Noble Eightfold Path consists of:

  • Right knowledge
  • Right intention
  • Right speech
  • Right action
  • Right livelihood
  • Right effort
  • Right mindfulness
  • Right concentration

Related Articles


Article Info

Title Noble Eightfold Path
Last UpdatedJanuary 29, 2021
URL religionfacts.com/noble-eightfold-path
Short URLrlft.co/912
MLA Citation “Noble Eightfold Path.” ReligionFacts.com. 29 Jan. 2021. Web. Accessed 19 Sep. 2021. <religionfacts.com/noble-eightfold-path>