Jain Cosmology


Jains believe that the universe and everything in it is eternal. Nothing that exists now was ever created, nor will it be destroyed. The universe consists of three realms: the heavens, the earthly realm and the hells. There are seven levels of heaven in Jain cosmology. The top level, "the Realm of the Jinas" is reserved for liberated souls. The next level down is the realm of the gods.


Article Info

Title Jain Cosmology
Last UpdatedJanuary 31, 2021
URL religionfacts.com/jainism/cosmology
Short URLrlft.co/1637
MLA Citation “Jain Cosmology.” ReligionFacts.com. 31 Jan. 2021. Web. Accessed 29 Jan. 2022. <religionfacts.com/jainism/cosmology>