Five Elements

Definition: Five Elements
Air, fire, water, earth, and ether.

A fundamental aspect of Wiccan belief is the Elements of Nature. Some hold to the earlier Greek conception of the four classical elements (air, fire, water, earth), while others recognize five elements: earth, air, water, fire, and spirit (akasha).

Some see the points of the pentagram symbol as representing the five elements. The elements are commonly invoked at the beginning of rituals or used in their physical forms to symbolically purify the ritual circle. Each element has associated symbols, rituals and meanings, which are outlined in the chart below. (Note: Systems of the elements vary by tradition and the associations below are not used by all Wiccans.)


Article Info

Title Five Elements
Last UpdatedJanuary 29, 2021
URL religionfacts.com/five-elements
Short URLrlft.co/1650
MLA Citation “Five Elements.” ReligionFacts.com. 29 Jan. 2021. Web. Accessed 23 Jan. 2022. <religionfacts.com/five-elements>