Fast Facts: Darshanas
Faith(s) Hinduism

The Darshanas are Hindu sacred texts that consist of varying attempts to develop and systematize the Vedas. They are thus considered manuals of philosophy.

The six Darshana sutras are:

  • Brahma Sutra - Vedanta philosophy of Sage Vyasa
  • Mimamsa Sutra - Philosophy of rites and rituals of Sage Jaimini
  • Nyaya Sutra - Logical analysis of Sage Gautama
  • Vaisheshika Sutra - Atomic philosophy of Sage Kanada
  • Sankya Sutras - Sankya philosophy of Sage Kapila
  • Yoga Sutras - Yoga philosophy of Sage Patanjali

Article Info

Title Darshanas
Last UpdatedJanuary 29, 2021
URL religionfacts.com/darshanas
Short URLrlft.co/286
MLA Citation “Darshanas.” ReligionFacts.com. 29 Jan. 2021. Web. Accessed 27 Sep. 2021. <religionfacts.com/darshanas>