Buddhist Sects and Schools


There are many subdivisions within Buddhism, but most can be classified into three major branches: Theravada ("Way of the Elders"), Mahayana ("Greater Vehicle") and Vajrayana ("Diamond Vehicle"). Theravada and Mahayana Buddhism went their separate ways in the first century CE. Mahayana then subdivided into several diverse schools, such as Zen, Pure Land and Nichiren, many of which flourish today in East Asia. The Vajrayana Buddhist tradition is an esoteric sect that is predominant in Tibet and Nepal.

Table of Contents


Article Info

Title Buddhist Sects and Schools
Last UpdatedJanuary 31, 2021
URL religionfacts.com/buddhism/branches
Short URLrlft.co/1340
MLA Citation “Buddhist Sects and Schools.” ReligionFacts.com. 31 Jan. 2021. Web. Accessed 22 Jan. 2022. <religionfacts.com/buddhism/branches>