Three Jewels (Three Refuges)

Definition: Three Jewels (Three Refuges)
A Buddhist statement of faith in which the believer takes refuge in the Buddha, the Sangha, and the Dharma.

The Three Jewels, also known as the Triple Gem, Three Refuges, or Three Treasures, are the primary statement of faith in Buddhism. To believe in and recite the Three Jewels is to become a Buddhist.

The Three Jewels or Refuges are:

  1. I take refuge in the Buddha.
  2. I take refuge in the Dharma (truth or teachings).
  3. I take refuge in the Sangha (monastic community).

An alternative English form is:

  1. To the Buddha for refuge I go.
  2. To the Dharma for refuge I go.
  3. To the Sangha for refuge I go.

The Three Jewels in Sanskrit:

बुद्धं शरणं गच्छामि।

धर्मं शरणं गच्छामि।

संघं शरणं गच्छामि।

The Three Jewels in Pali:

बुद्धं सरणं गच्छामि।

ធម្មំ សរណំ គច្ឆាមិ ។

សង្ឃំ សរណំ គច្ឆាមិ ។


  1. Dhammika, Ven. S.. “What are the Three Refuges?.” Buddhanet. "Taking Refuge in the Buddha is a confident acceptance of the fact that one can become fully enlightened of the fact that one can become fully enlightened and perfected just as the Buddha was. Taking Refuge in the Dhamma means understanding the Four Noble Truths and basing one's life on the Noble Eightfold Path. Taking Refuge in the Sangha means looking for support, inspiration and guidance from all who walk the Noble Eightfold Path. Doing this one becomes a Buddhist and thus takes the first step on the path towards Nirvana."

Article Info

Title Three Jewels (Three Refuges)
Last UpdatedJanuary 28, 2021
URL religionfacts.com/three-jewels
Short URLrlft.co/3354
MLA Citation “Three Jewels (Three Refuges).” ReligionFacts.com. 28 Jan. 2021. Web. Accessed 31 Jul. 2021. <religionfacts.com/three-jewels>