Five Precepts

Definition: Five Precepts
Sanskrit, sila. Obligations that both monks and laypersons undertake. They are to abstain from: harming any living being; taking anything not given; sensual misconduct; false speech; and losing control through intoxication.

The Five Precepts (Sanskrit, sila) are obligations that both Buddhist monks and laypersons undertake. They are as follows:

  1. Do not harm any living being.
  2. Do not take anything not given.
  3. Do not engage in sexual misconduct.
  4. Do not speak falsely.
  5. Do not lose control through intoxication.

Article Info

Title Five Precepts
Last UpdatedJanuary 28, 2021
URL religionfacts.com/five-precepts
Short URLrlft.co/1277
MLA Citation “Five Precepts.” ReligionFacts.com. 28 Jan. 2021. Web. Accessed 13 Jun. 2021. <religionfacts.com/five-precepts>