Six Articles of Faith

What are the Six Articles of Faith in Islam?

Muslim doctrine is often summarized in "Six Articles of Faith." According to this list, to be a Muslim one must believe in:

  1. One God;
  2. The angels of God;
  3. The books of God, especially the Qur'an;
  4. The prophets of God, especially Muhammad;
  5. The Day of Judgment (or the afterlife); and
  6. The supremacy of God's will (or predestination).

This list is sometimes shortened to Five Articles of Faith, which leaves off belief in the supremacy of God's will.

More on Muslim beliefs


  1. "Six Articles of Faith." 2005.
  2. "Basics of Becoming a Muslim." Islamicity. 2005.
« Muslim Beliefs Home
Six Articles of Faith